Dan_42
(veteran)
06/13/05 03:24 AM
T3 alarm has gotten unreliable

Hey all,

Since I got my Palm T3 around 8 months ago, I've been using it (among other things) as an alarm clock, which it did very well. I could leave my palm (powered off) by the side of my bed and could be sure that it would automatically power-on whenever the alarm came up (I generally used the alarm with the included "world clock" program).

However, in the past 2 weeks or so, the alarm does not co-operate anymore. What generally happens is that I wake up, unsure of the time, then reach over for my Palm, hit the power button, and then the alarm sounds (telling me that I should have been up around an hour ago).

Is this a common problem? Is there something I can toggle to make sure it works as before?

If I do test runs for times 5 to 15 minutes ahead, it seems to behave; but overnight it hasn't co-operated.

Could this have anything to do with the vibration setting of the Palm? (I rarely have it on, but I started trying that function out fairly recently)...


LisaG
(Head Honcho)
06/13/05 09:00 PM
Re: T3 alarm has gotten unreliable

Pocket PCs sometimes have that problem but generally not Palms. Have you tried a soft reset to reboot it?

Dan_42
(veteran)
06/14/05 12:28 AM
Re: T3 alarm has gotten unreliable

Did a soft reset a few days ago, but it hasn't affected the issue.

LisaG
(Head Honcho)
06/16/05 12:06 AM
Re: T3 alarm has gotten unreliable

Hmmm.. don't know. I haven't experienced that problem with my Palm PDAs.Have you installed any new 3rd party software recently that might be hanging up the device or causing a conflict? My next step would be a hard reset (Hotsync first so you can restore your data!!).

Tanker_Bob
(PDA Addict)
07/06/05 01:24 PM
Re: T3 alarm has gotten unreliable

Quote:

Did a soft reset a few days ago, but it hasn't affected the issue.



This is almost certainly a software conflict. Lisa's suggestion to uninstall any software you added about the time the problem started is a good starting point. Palm alarms have been extremely reliable over the years.


Dan_42
(veteran)
09/12/06 04:52 AM
Re: T3 alarm has gotten unreliable

After doing a hard reset (although not by choice), the T3 is back to top performance and the alarms are quite reliable.

Still not sure what was causing the conflict/issue.



Contact the Folks at MobileTechReview.com | Privacy statement Go to mobiletechreview.com homepage

Powered by UBB.threads™ 6.5.5