pockettech
(junior member)
06/19/08 01:46 AM
Symbol Pocket PC changing license info

I just purchased an older Symbol 8846 Pocket PC off of Ebay. I did a hard reset to reset everything back to the original settings but for some reason the license is not resetting. It still says the person's name. Is there a way to reset this? Or do something more than a hard reset? I read that you could flash the ROM or something like that. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Shawn


LisaG
(Head Honcho)
06/19/08 04:14 AM
Re: Symbol Pocket PC changing license info

This might be a good question for Symbol tech support. Have you asked them how to wipe out the license? They might be able and willing to help.

pockettech
(junior member)
06/19/08 02:35 PM
Re: Symbol Pocket PC changing license info

Yeah I'll give it a shot, I didn't they would respond because I bought it from someone else, but who knows?

pockettech
(junior member)
06/29/08 05:27 PM
Re: Symbol Pocket PC changing license info

No response from them since my last post, I called and left a message and emailed tech support and its been 9 days.

Is there a way to just reinstall the Windows Mobile OS? I don't have any valuable data or anything.

Get this, there is also this weird security popup for a program called Kerberos? It wants me to login with a username and password but when I click cancel it goes away. It pops up every once in a while and I click cancel to make it go away.

There's got to be some way to just wipe it all out so I don't have to deal with these little annoyances lol.


LisaG
(Head Honcho)
06/30/08 12:58 AM
Re: Symbol Pocket PC changing license info

A hard reset is actually the way you re-install the OS. It does it automatically as part of the wipe-out process.

Sometimes hard resets are tricky to accomplish. The method varies for Symbol handhelds, but I think with that one you have to press the reset button under the battery cover while holding down the Function key. Then it takes a minute or more for it to do the re-load of the OS and boot. Does that sound like what you did?


pockettech
(junior member)
06/30/08 02:53 AM
Re: Symbol Pocket PC changing license info

Yup, that is exactly what I did. I was able to find the document on Symbol's support site indicating how to do a hard reset and it was as you described. Any other ideas?


Contact the Folks at MobileTechReview.com | Privacy statement Go to mobiletechreview.com homepage

Powered by UBB.threads™ 6.5.5