MobileTechReview.com logo
MobileTechReview News, Reviews and Forums
Phone Notebooks & Tablets Gaming Gadgets iPhone & iPad Video Reviews

Palm OS PDAs >> Palm Inc.

Pages: 1
Ant

Reged: 03/23/06
MemoryMgr.c, line:3654, Free handle in Tungsten C (PalmOS 5)
      #23157 - 03/23/06 01:54 PM

Hello,

My father's Tungsten C (PalmOS 5) is crashing like crazy (started a few days ago). We tried running Filez (to clear Web* files from what I read online [http://www.mobiletechreview.com/ubbthreads/showthreaded.php?&Board=UBB1&Number=7995] is not possible since it gives the error here too) and AvantGo will give "MemoryMgr.c, line:3654, Free handle" errors.

How do I fix this? Is there another Filez program to use? I am new to PDA since I never owned one before so please keep it newbie friendly.

Thank you in advance.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Jacob_SpindelModerator
Moderator and writer

Reged: 11/21/05
Re: MemoryMgr.c, line:3654, Free handle in Tungsten C (PalmOS 5) [Re: Ant]
      #23160 - 03/23/06 08:27 PM

Well, it seems to me that randomly deleting files you don't fully understand will almost certainly cause crashes rather than resolving them.

Chances are that someone installed some incompatible software to the T|C, or just too much software and ran out of memory. Try removing any software packages you installed recently, if any, to see if you can isolate a problem. If this doesn't work, you may have to do a hard reset and start from scratch after moving your backup folder to avoid resyncing your old configuration. Then restore your programs one at a time to see which one(s) cause(s) problems.

--------------------
Chief iPod Correspondent
Senior Time Waster
Extreme Moderator
Moderate Extremist
Captain of the Planet Express
Assistant Jedi Librarian
--------------------

LisaGModerator
Head Honcho

Reged: 07/11/02
Loc: Texas
Re: MemoryMgr.c, line:3654, Free handle in Tungsten C (PalmOS 5) [Re: Ant]
      #23182 - 03/25/06 10:24 PM