MobileTechReview.com logo
MobileTechReview News, Reviews and Forums
Phone Notebooks & Tablets Gaming Gadgets iPhone & iPad Video Reviews

General Discussions >> What Should I Buy?

Pages: 1
altofame

Reged: 08/08/13
Tablet for note taking
      #45109 - 08/09/13 03:30 AM

Please recommend me a tablet to be used solely for note-taking and pdf annotating. I am considering between Lenovo's Tablet 2 and Microsoft Surface Pro. I like the Tablet 2's long battery life, but I have seen from some reviews that the machine gets a little laggy when annotating multiple pages of pdf file (which is what I want to use it for). I like everything about the surface pro except the poor battery life. I also work part-time as a TA, so I need the machine to be able to hook up to another display while writing down a lot of equations and schematics (most likely using one-note). I live in Thailand and the 64GB Tablet 2 (not the Win8 pro version) sells for $886, while the 128GB Surface is $1050. I have also considered the duo13(i5 128GB, the only model available here) which sells at $1666 but that would be too much since I am also considering buying another laptop (don't really like the convertible form factor). At this point what really would fits me is the rumored Surface2. But I need to make the purchase before the end of this month.

I would like to ask if you could give me an advice based on your experience with both of these machines? Or would you recommend me to wait for next-gen Surface? Based on the fact that it hasn't even been announced yet, I find that to be very unlikely. It would also be great if you could add other viable options to the pool.

Always love your reviews. Your help would be highly appreciated.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
LisaGModerator
Head Honcho

Reged: 07/11/02
Loc: Texas
Re: Tablet for note taking [Re: altofame]
      #45111 - 08/09/13 09:54 AM