MobileTechReview.com logo
MobileTechReview News, Reviews and Forums
Phone Notebooks & Tablets Gaming Gadgets iPhone & iPad Video Reviews

General Discussions >> What Should I Buy?

Pages: 1
Smorton

Reged: 01/19/14
Need help on buying a laptop.
      #45938 - 01/20/14 11:39 PM

Greetings. First post here and please forgive any dullness as I am a complete beginner.
I am looking for a laptop or ultrabook to use in my practice of law. The primary purpose of the computer would be to use it with Dragon Naturally Speaking Professional. Although I own the software I have not used it for more than 1/2 hour total, due to not having an appropriate computer to use it on. This software takes a lot of horsepower to use and I am thinking of something with a 4th gen Intel i7, a lot of ram, etc.

I have always used desktops, except I bought an Ipad about 6 months ago, on a whim. I am a complete novice at laptops and perhaps at computers and software in general. I like the Ipadís touch screen but I only use it for non-work things.

A few days ago I bought a ThinkPad Yoga (i7, Win 8.1, 8 gb of ram, 256 solid state drive, etc. I bought it from Costco because I have been told they have a liberal return policy. You can return a computer within 90 days of purchase if you don't like it.
I was pretty amazed at how small the TP Yoga was when it arrived. My immediate thought was that this is so small I won't be able to see the icons, text, etc, without having some serious glasses on and that it simply would be too small for me to use on a regular daily basis.

After using it for a short time I discovered that you can "zoom in" and make things larger. The quality of the TP Yoga, is great. However, I have several misgivings and I am leaning towards returning the Yoga and taking a second look at what my needs are.