MobileTechReview.com logo
MobileTechReview News, Reviews and Forums
Phone Notebooks & Tablets Gaming Gadgets iPhone & iPad Video Reviews

General Discussions >> What Should I Buy?

Pages: 1
mship

Reged: 06/02/09
Need help choosing a device
      #33398 - 06/02/09 11:01 PM

Count me in with the what do I buy crowd. I've been researching device options and now I'm more confused than ever.

I'm a writer that is basically looking for a pocket sized word processor. Since, to my knowledge, these no longer exist, I bought a Palm TX. It's a great device but I never could get used to the stylus or the Palm OS. So it's been collecting dust for a year and a half and will be going up on ebay in the next couple days.

The thought of carrying both a phone and a PDA seems redundant so I began looking at the combo, windows mobile smartphones. That way I could sync a Word document to the phone and edit it and send it back. This seemes like a good option. I'm under contract with Verizon but eligible for an upgrade. Really like my ENV2 but note taking is not that good on it.

I looked at the Blackberry Storm and the Samsung Omnia. I wasn't impressed with either. I found the keyboard on the Storm to be ridiculous and the Omnia is definately a stylus only keyboard. Not to mention the fact that with Verizon you have to get the data plan, which I doubt I would use. I'm not looking for an internet device or email function. I suppose if I had one of these phones and was in a free wifi spot I might jump on the net, but it is not something I want to shell out $40/mo for.

Looked at the netbook option. Though they are not really posket size I thought it might work. Until I found out it is basically designed for wifi browsing. The guy at Best Buy told me I could purchase MS Word ($149) and either have them install it or purchase an external CD drive ($100). Suddenly this got into laptop sale price range and it seemed stupid to buy a netbook when a laptop was almost the same price.